Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

Faculty At The Murphy Institute

The Murphy Institute has a number of “core” faculty members who regularly teach courses designed specifically for political economy majors. It also has faculty affiliates in Economics, History, Philosophy, and Political Science who teach departmentally-based courses. Lastly, this list includes faculty who direct Murphy programs.

With grant support from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the basic contours of the undergraduate program were put into place in the late 1980s. In the early 1990s, a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation provided generous support for new faculty positions in international political economy.

The Murphy Institute’s core faculty are among Tulane’s most respected and productive scholars. They have been recipients of numerous research grants, including fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies, the Earhart Foundation, the National Humanities Center, and Princeton’s Center for Human Values.

Gary Hoover
Steven M. Sheffrin
Richard F. Teichgraeber III
Caroline Arruda
Kevin Callison
C. Justin Cook
Brandon R. Davis
Alison Denham
Adam Feibelman
Douglas N. Harris
Ann Lipton
David O'Brien
Mary K. Olson
Patrick Testa
Martyn P. Thompson

The Murphy Institute

Established in memory of Charles H. Murphy, Sr. (1870-1954), and inspired by the vision of Charles H. Murphy, Jr. (1920-2002), The Murphy Institute exists to help Tulane faculty and students understand economic, moral, and political problems we all face and think about. More important, it exists to help us understand how these problems have come to be so closely interconnected.